Yue Zhou awarded the 2016 Kirkman

YueZhou has been awarded the 2016 Kirkman Medal

DrYueZhou has achieved excellent influential results with many co-authors and in broad areas, three of which are modified planar functions, substructures of finite projective planes and network codes. In addition to providing several important constructions in finite planes, Dr Zhou has improved a deep result of Leung and Xiang on the rank of unital codes. Dr Zhou has introduced the concept of nuclei for distinguishing inequivalent network codes, and used it to determine the full automorphism groups of twisted Gabidulin codes. His nominators summarize: “all his research visits were a great success” and “YueZhou is a brilliant mathematician”.

Lijun Ji awarded the 2015 Hall

2015 Hall Medal award to Lijun Ji

Lijun Ji is a leader in the area of combinatorial design theory and its applications in information theory, focussing on three-wise balanced designs, Steiner quadruple systems with desired properties, large sets of triple systems, orthogonal arrays, covering arrays, group divisible 3-designs and their applications in optical orthogonal codes, authentication codes, constant weight codes, and frequency hopping sequences. He had published 51 articles in international journals. His nominators highlight his “outstanding contributions”, his “good taste in research problems”, and his “potential to be one of the thought leaders in [the] design theoretic community”.

Xiande Zhang awarded the 2012 Kirkman


19th Joint Annual Meeting of the Austrian Mathematical Society and German Mathematical Society

Welcome to ÖMG - DMV 2017 in Salzburg, AustriaSeptember 11 - 15, 2017 The board of the Austrian Mathematical Society (ÖMG) and the organizing committee cordially invite to the 19th International Congress of the ÖMG from September 11-15, 2017 in Salzburg. This conference is also the Annual Meeting of the Deutsche Mathematiker-Vereinigung (DMV). The meeting takes place at Paris-Lodron University of Salzburg, Naturwissenschaftliche Fakultät (Hellbrunner Str. 34/II). The scientific program starts on Monday, September 11, 2017 and ends in the evening of Thursday, September 14. In addition, a Teacher's Day will take place on Friday, September 15. Michael Oberguggenberger President, Austrian Mathematical Society Michael Röckner President, German Mathematical Union Clemens Fuchs Chairman, Local Organizing Committee The DVMLG is sponsoring Section 1,Algebra, Logic and Set Theory. For details seehere.The PC has now decided on the proposedminisymposia.The exhib…

In memoriam T. S. Michael