Showing posts from 2017

5th ICC in Melbourne, December 4-9, 2017

The 5th International Combinatorics Conference (5ICC) will be held at Monash University in Melbourne on 4-9 December 2017. The ICC is held approximately every 10 years, and incorporates the annual ACCMCC meeting of theCombinatorial Mathematics Society of Australasia. Provisional list of invited speakersBill Chen, Nankai University
Maria Chudnovsky, Princeton University
Charlie Colbourn, Arizona State University
Marston Conder, University of Auckland
David Eppstein, University of California, Irvine
Joanna Fawcett, Cambridge University
Jacob Fox, Stanford University
Daniela Kühn, Birmingham University
Barbara Maenhaut, University of Queensland
Brendan McKay, Australian National University
Alexander Scott, Oxford University
Paul Seymour, Princeton University
Balázs Szegedy, Rényi Institute
Le Anh Vinh, Vietnam National University

2015 Kirkman Medal award to Padraig Ó Cathaín

Padraig Ó Cathain’s research concerns algebraic and combinatorial methods for designs, particularly Hadamard matrices, in addition to compressed sensing. The breadth of his research is remarkable at his early career stage, and is accompanied by substantial depth. As his nominators note, Padraig “brings a formidable command of a broad array of mathematical tools to his research, and deploys these tools with deftness and imagination.”

2014 Hall Medal award to Peter Dukes

Peter Dukes’s research is in algebraic combinatorics, addressing theoretical aspects of designs, codes and graphs as well as applications in communications and computer science. He had published 45 journal papers. He is very active in undergraduate and graduate research supervision. His nominators describe him as “one of the leading combinatorialists in design theory and related areas of graph theory and coding theory”, and attest to his “brilliance in combining ideas from several different areas of mathematics to solve difficult problems in combinatorics and graph theory”.

2012 Euler Medal award to Alexander Rosa

Alex Rosa is the international authority on many topics in combinatorial design theory, including Steiner triple systems, Steiner quadruple systems, labellings, cycle systems, and colourings. He has published more than 200 refereed journal papers, written a major research monograph on Triple Systems, and founded the leading Journal of Combinatorial Designs. His work has opened new fields of research, breaking new ground repeatedly. For decades, Alex has emphasized the elegance of new ideas, and has freely shared his knowledge and ideas with his younger colleagues. As one nominator says, he is a “master at constructing designs” and an “inspiration”.

Tao Feng awarded the 2011 Kirkman


Yue Zhou awarded the 2016 Kirkman

YueZhou has been awarded the 2016 Kirkman Medal

DrYueZhou has achieved excellent influential results with many co-authors and in broad areas, three of which are modified planar functions, substructures of finite projective planes and network codes. In addition to providing several important constructions in finite planes, Dr Zhou has improved a deep result of Leung and Xiang on the rank of unital codes. Dr Zhou has introduced the concept of nuclei for distinguishing inequivalent network codes, and used it to determine the full automorphism groups of twisted Gabidulin codes. His nominators summarize: “all his research visits were a great success” and “YueZhou is a brilliant mathematician”.

Lijun Ji awarded the 2015 Hall

2015 Hall Medal award to Lijun Ji

Lijun Ji is a leader in the area of combinatorial design theory and its applications in information theory, focussing on three-wise balanced designs, Steiner quadruple systems with desired properties, large sets of triple systems, orthogonal arrays, covering arrays, group divisible 3-designs and their applications in optical orthogonal codes, authentication codes, constant weight codes, and frequency hopping sequences. He had published 51 articles in international journals. His nominators highlight his “outstanding contributions”, his “good taste in research problems”, and his “potential to be one of the thought leaders in [the] design theoretic community”.

Xiande Zhang awarded the 2012 Kirkman


19th Joint Annual Meeting of the Austrian Mathematical Society and German Mathematical Society

Welcome to ÖMG - DMV 2017 in Salzburg, AustriaSeptember 11 - 15, 2017 The board of the Austrian Mathematical Society (ÖMG) and the organizing committee cordially invite to the 19th International Congress of the ÖMG from September 11-15, 2017 in Salzburg. This conference is also the Annual Meeting of the Deutsche Mathematiker-Vereinigung (DMV). The meeting takes place at Paris-Lodron University of Salzburg, Naturwissenschaftliche Fakultät (Hellbrunner Str. 34/II). The scientific program starts on Monday, September 11, 2017 and ends in the evening of Thursday, September 14. In addition, a Teacher's Day will take place on Friday, September 15. Michael Oberguggenberger President, Austrian Mathematical Society Michael Röckner President, German Mathematical Union Clemens Fuchs Chairman, Local Organizing Committee The DVMLG is sponsoring Section 1,Algebra, Logic and Set Theory. For details seehere.The PC has now decided on the proposedminisymposia.The exhib…

In memoriam T. S. Michael